March 27, 2024

Part Two: On entering writing contests

Posted in self-consciousness, writers and rejection tagged at 3:31 pm by Rebecca Hein

Whenever I decide to enter a contest, as I’m attempting to compose my entry, until recently I’ve lost most of my normal writing skill. But since I hate the guaranteed result of not trying even more than I hate struggling with my loss of ability, I persevere.

Before the entry I just submitted, my last attempt was about six months ago. I never could shake the feeling that the contest judge would dismiss what I was writing. It was so annoying to feel like she was hanging over my shoulder saying, “No bedroom scene? Forget it.” or “Your nature descriptions are all cliches.”

I slogged forward on the current effort until one day I finally saw how to liberate myself.

Leave a comment