February 22, 2013

Fun or Work? Part Three

Posted in writing for fun tagged at 3:39 pm by Rebecca Hein

My entire musical training and a good share of my writing life was spent focusing on correctness and excellence. I worked hard because I wanted to be good at my art, and also because I’d discovered the joys of proficiency.

It’s fun to play the cello well and to write easily and well. Yet there’s a shorter path to this enjoyment than the thirty-year one I took.

Play easy pieces and give yourself easy writing assignments. Why complicate your artistic life with intricate tasks when the relaxation of easy forward momentum can iron out so many problems?

In music, tone and a natural feel for phrasing flow from playing pieces that are well within your technique. In writing, a simple, straightforward narrative is fun and almost writes itself. From there, more advanced abilities develop of their own accord.

Leave a Reply

