October 17, 2012

Self-Exploitation, Part Five

Posted in self-exploitation tagged at 11:36 am by Rebecca Hein

With my column-writing, not only did I have to abandon any idea of spending just a few hours on each piece, I finally realized I had to lavish on them all the time and ingenuity I could spare. This was a repeat of my determination to make my concerto performance as beautiful as humanly possible, without regard to pay.

What was behind this behavior and lifelong pattern? All I knew was that to pursue beauty and quality in my work felt right.

Leave a Reply

