September 26, 2012

Self-Exploitation, Part Two

Posted in self-exploitation tagged at 2:10 pm by Rebecca Hein

In 1997 I contracted verbally with the Wyoming Symphony Orchestra to perform the Saint-Saens Cello Concerto in April of the following year. As featured soloist, I wanted to play my very best, so I practiced like a maniac all that year.

Then, a few months before the performance, I discovered that they were planning to pay me half the agreed-upon amount. This misunderstanding and the resulting cut in my fee disheartened me, but did I practice less?

No. Redoubling my efforts, I vowed to make it the most beautiful performance of my life.

Leave a Reply

