July 25, 2012

Evaluating Our Own Work, Part Four

Posted in self-evaluation tagged , at 3:35 pm by Rebecca Hein

The most important advice I ever received about evaluating my own work was from Ron Kenner. He’d just finished editing what I thought was the final version of my book, A Case of Brilliance.

He said, “It feels thin.”

After struggling with my revisions for a few weeks, I called him and asked, “How can I tell where to fill it out without tearing it all down and starting over?”

“Just read it through and listen for the places that call out for more detail,” he replied.

It wasn’t quite that easy, but close. I did indeed find that I could listen to my writing the way I listened to my cello playing, and could tell where more work was needed.

Leave a Reply

