June 6, 2012

Perfect Moments, Part One

Posted in Creativity, Peak Experiences tagged , at 4:33 pm by Rebecca Hein

The essence of a sublime experience is that you can’t hold onto it. Yet these transcendent moments in creativity produce our best stories, poems, and scenes. How do we attain this exalted state where we know we’re generating material many readers will want?

I began speculating about this several years ago when my cello practicing floated into that zone of enchantment where everything worked perfectly. Instinct told me I couldn’t repeat it. Yet I’ve been able to do just that, time after time, until I’ve nearly come to expect it.

Leave a Reply

