January 18, 2012

Achieving Synthesis, Part One: Understanding the Process

Posted in Creativity, Right Brain tagged , , at 3:22 pm by Rebecca Hein

I used to wonder why my cello practice sessions almost always went better when I made no attempt to build on what I’d learned the day before. Stranger yet, when I let go of the previous day’s gains, I usually remembered them and could put them to work.

Something similar happens when we become totally absorbed in our writing. Forgetting all our plans for procedure or plot, we just pour out the words and often achieve something better than if we’d worked by design.

Why does this work? Because we’ve found a way to activate our right brain—the seat of our imagination and our intuition.

Leave a Reply

