January 5, 2012

Tone in Writing, Part Three: Listening for Your Tone

Posted in Practice Writing, Tone tagged , , , at 12:40 pm by Rebecca Hein

In cello practice, I start my warm-ups and immediately begin absorbing the sound and feel of that day’s tone. To evaluate it, I have to get moving and stay moving, because if I stop playing, then there’s nothing to listen to.

In writing, I also have to launch myself and then keep going. Since this is difficult when I’m working on a piece for publication, I mostly reserve my tone-listening for practice writing. A variant of freewriting, practice writing not only flows without obstacles, it takes little attention. Then I can reserve my focus for how the words feel as they flow out of me, and this is the beginning of listening for tone.

Leave a Reply

