September 7, 2011

Writer’s Block, Part Five: The Time is Not Yet Right

Posted in Writer's Block tagged at 7:48 am by Rebecca Hein

Years ago I struggled to write a book that refused to behave. No matter how many chapters I wrote, sooner or later I got stuck and couldn’t see how to get going again.

The problem was not in my initial inspiration for the book. Neither was the flow of words an obstacle. Rather, it was the direction of those words. Eventually I always had to stop because I didn’t see which way to take my narrative next.

Finally giving up, I abandoned the project and years later saw the problem: my vision for the book was only half-formed. I couldn’t have written the book without the knowledge and experience I gained in the years after I gave up on it. Looking back, I realized that in the absence of those experiences, the story was incomplete and therefore couldn’t yet be told.

Leave a Reply

