August 31, 2011

Writer’s Block, Part Four: Wrong Project

Posted in Writer's Block tagged at 11:39 am by Rebecca Hein

The Muse, in her caprices, may have something different planned for us than we had in mind for ourselves. More than once I’ve sat down to write an article or book chapter only to discover after a long tussle that I didn’t have writer’s block at all. Rather, that day’s flow and creativity was aimed in a different direction and I didn’t realize it.

Once I’ve steered right, words and ideas pour out of me, and I see that my creativity is free and open as long as I don’t try to bend it in the wrong direction.

2 Comments »

  1. Your post reminds me of turning an AM radio so that one local station fades out and a distant one comes in. A particular project may be too familiar to allow creativity to flow. By trying something else, a person might find that spark that gets another job done. The original project may come together the next day or next week.

    • Rebecca Hein said,

      Yes; that’s why it’s good to have more than one project though perhaps in my case a book, 2 newsletters, blog posts, and a grant application are more than enough.


Leave a Reply

