August 24, 2011

Writer’s Block, Part Three: I Don’t Want to Face a Problem in My Life

Posted in Writer's Block tagged at 12:52 pm by Rebecca Hein

Nothing stops creative flow like the refusal to face a difficult situation. The problem in your life, whatever it is, doesn’t have to be the subject of your writing project to interfere with what you’re trying to do. Simply backing away from the apparently unrelated situation is enough.

Shying away from life problems and your feelings about them is a form of being untrue to yourself, and since creativity requires above all that we be honest with ourselves and readers, we gain nothing by trying to avoid the pain and confusion of a major problem.

2 Comments »

  1. As terrible as they may seem, running from problems just preservs them. I found that when I wrote my memoir of being in a blind school, facing the nightmares and handing the pain over to the Lord, my bad feelings lost their hold on me. Writing is one safe place where we can exorcise those demons from our past, either through confession or fictionalization. If we’re clever, we can earn money doing it too.

    • Rebecca Hein said,

      Yes, for me the hard part is to find my sense of humor when I’m writing about a difficult time in my life.


Leave a Reply

