July 21, 2011

On Emptiness, Part Four: Releasing the Unconscious

Posted in Emptiness tagged , , at 6:01 am by Rebecca Hein

Dorothea Brande observes, “The Unconscious must flow freely and richly, bringing at demand all the treasures of memory, all the emotions…which it has stored away in its depths…” The key is how to tap in to that free, rich flow.

It happens best when left alone, and what better way to let it happen than in your freewriting? When our words, expectations, and results are empty, our conscious mind is less busy or, in lucky moments, actually empty. Then we are being, not doing, and this opens the door to our best ideas.

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve found that my best ideas for writing and music come when I’m doing neither. That’s why I cary a pen and pad of paper with me when I go out and I have old desk calendars to scribble notes on. I’ll have to find those washable crayons for bathroom walls so when inspiration strikes in the shower, I can jot the idea down and not lose it.

    • Rebecca Hein said,

      Yes, I’ve found that good ideas arrive just as easily when I’m not writing (or playing the cello), but the advantage of freewriting is that it combines writing with (nearly) doing nothing. This releases the unconscious while we’re writing, which is a great experience.


Leave a Reply

