March 23, 2011

Saturation, Part Two

Posted in Saturation tagged at 10:34 am by Rebecca Hein

I’ve re-read so many books so many times that in some cases I’ve lost count. The resulting familiarity with plot, setting, and character allows me to notice the subtleties of story construction.

For example, in telling any story, whether fiction or nonfiction, it’s important to prepare the reader for coming events. A line, phrase, or paragraph filling in some slight detail of character or setting can help you launch a scene later when you don’t want to encumber the action with too much information.

In my extensive re-reading I’ve noticed this technique over and over again. Having found it in the work of others, I can more easily add it to my own.

Leave a Reply

