February 23, 2011

How Does Roundtable Storytelling Stimulate the Imagination?

Posted in Collaboration tagged , , , at 10:02 am by Rebecca Hein

The virtue of roundtable storytelling is that it forces you to improvise. This process becomes easier when you relax into it, and that’s when the magic begins.

My normal mode during a roundtable story is to divide my attention between the installment my neighbor is telling and my pending contribution. My turn arrives and I tell my part; its quality ranges from adequate to mildly entertaining.

But occasionally a vivid image appears from nowhere. I share it, and it gives a new and jolly twist to the plot.

Leave a Reply

