January 5, 2011

Creativity and Freedom, Part One

Posted in Creativity tagged , , at 9:57 am by Rebecca Hein

Creativity works best when limits are removed. These may include previous expectations, present intent, or any plans at all.

I rediscovered this recently while practicing the cello. I was hoping to recover the feel of excellent tone from the previous practice session, but knew that a direct attempt wouldn’t work. I had to let it go, and could sense my attention floating ahead of my work, straight into the unknown.

In this open state of mind I always feel new ideas and experiences winking at me, and the same is true of my best writing sessions. The key is to let go and allow momentum to carry you forward.

2 Comments »

  1. Remembering my own dabbling in electronic music, some of my greatist tunes came from messing around with a cheap Casio-style keyboard. I’ll have to do more unstructured writing for its own sake. If I can silence the critical voice, I may come up with a masterpiece or at least something that sounds good. That’s how I came up with my piece, Contacting U2MIR. It actually was played on CBC nationally and earned me more than a hundred dollars in royalties. Not bad for an improvised melody on the spur of the moment and an afternoon’s work on Thanksgiving Day, 1989.

    • Rebecca Hein said,

      That’s a great success story. Once I earned $200 in a 20-minute recording session in San Juan, Puerto Rico. If we could figure out how to replicate this in writing, without sacrificing quality, there would be a lot more successful writers.


Leave a Reply

