December 22, 2010

About Incubation

Posted in Incubation tagged , , at 9:18 am by Rebecca Hein

Incubation is what begins when you put aside a writing project because you can’t figure out what to do with it. I often have this problem, but generally not for long.

I’ve learned to retain unconscious focus while releasing my direct attention. During this stage I don’t try to do any writing on that particular project, but I do read through it in a lazy, undirected state. I also take walks, as extended and dreamy as my schedule allows. Not long thereafter the solution pops out of my right brain.

Leave a Reply

