October 20, 2010

Writer’s Block

Posted in Uncategorized, Writer's Block tagged , , , at 9:30 am by Rebecca Hein

We think of writer’s block as a complete halt. Unable to produce a word, we struggle to push through an invisible wall so thick it defeats us.

Often, warm-ups and practice writing are enough to overcome this, but if the problem is deeper than a lack of flow, a different solution is needed.

I found myself in just this position last week, after months of trying to start two books for which I thought my ideas were clear. I’d been doing warm-ups for years, and practice writing for months, and I never have a problem producing words. But I couldn’t put my ideas in order, and this is an example of a more subtle form of writer’s block.

Next: How I overcame the problem

Leave a Reply

