September 29, 2010

Success in Writing

Posted in Success tagged , at 9:45 am by Rebecca Hein

If one person likes your writing, will two people want it? If two readers love your ideas and your style, will others? Yes. I’ve seen this happen in my own life, therefore you can achieve it too.

What’s required? I discovered this in the mid-1980s when I played a faculty cello recital at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh. After the performance, members of the audience were lining up to shake my hand, and one person said to me, “There are two kinds of recitals: the kind where you’re always glancing at your watch. Then there’s the other kind: when you don’t want it to end. Yours was the second kind.”

My secret? Hard work. Years of practice, and not just any practicing: an intelligent approach which has made all the difference.

Leave a Reply

