July 14, 2010

Varieties of Practicing–Part Three: Adventure

Posted in Practice Writing tagged , , , , at 9:29 am by Rebecca Hein

Why must productivity be linear? Why do we think we’re wasting time if we can’t see immediate results from our thinking?

These questions occurred to me after I discovered right-brain thought, which is induced by daydreaming. In the summer of 2002, I told my cello students to let their minds wander while they were practicing and also while they were playing for me in lessons.

This experiment produced measurable progress in their playing and, since we couldn’t predict the direction their minds would travel while in right-brain mode, we all felt a new sense of adventure.

Next: Adventure in writing

2 Comments »

  1. I’m glad you’re speaking out against linierarity. I’ve often found that I will be inspired by stray thoughts which I wouldn’t have been had I plodded ahead in a straight line. One Mexican car owner took this creative approach to a cracked windshield. The owner made a spider web of string over the cracks and put a stuffed toy spider on the dash board. This person turned a damaged windshield into a work of art. Most people would complain bitterly about the problem.

    • Rebecca Hein said,

      Yes, stray thoughts are often the best avenue to creativity. The trick is to give them the right habitat inside ourselves.


Leave a Reply

